Decatur’s Mayor Bill Floyd Elected To Transportation Executive Committee

After meeting for the very first time today, the group created under Georgia’s Transportation Investment Act to come up with a list of projects for the Atlanta region – the Atlanta Regional Transportation Roundtable – announced its elected 5-member Executive Committee.

Along with Norcross Mayor Bucky Johnson, Kennesaw Mayor Mark Mathews, Henry County Commission Chair B.J. Mathis and Douglas County Commission Chair Tom Worthan, is Decatur’s own Mayor Bill Floyd!

The Executive Committee plays an important role in the selection of Atlanta transportation projects that could potentially be funded with a one-cent sales tax.

The Georgia Department of Transportation is scheduled to submit a “wish list” to the Exec. Committee for review some time during the Spring of next year.  The 5 executive committee members will then be tasked with selecting the projects which will be brought before the full 21-member Roundtable for a vote in August 2011.  The final Roundtable vote is scheduled to occur “no later than October 15, 2011.”

More info on House Bill 277 and the process of selecting a list of projects that will be put before voters in 2012 can be found HERE.

2 thoughts on “Decatur’s Mayor Bill Floyd Elected To Transportation Executive Committee”

  1. I don’t know how the most populous county in the region (Fulton) ends up not having any representation on the executive committee. Kind of a joke if you ask me.

  2. Now I love our Mayor, but I wonder how many of those executive committee members have ever actually used MARTA. Seems like other rural v. urban split with Decatur siding with rural for a seat at the table.

Comments are closed.